I Started My Personal Blog in Less Than a Day

How a casual event changed my perspective, giving me the courage to finally create my website

Gabby Savage
4 min readMar 8, 2024
That’s me in Ireland: free and creatively happy

For some time now, I’ve been trying to focus on every casual event that comes my way and make the most of it. Sometimes I just read articles or stories on Medium and casually stumble upon some news. I save it to read later or, if it catches my attention, I give it a quick glance right then and there.

And that’s what happened to me a couple of weeks ago while scheduling the social media posts for selfemployedspain.com in English. I saw a piece of news about the social network X (formerly Twitter) posting over a million job listings on their page. It caught my attention, so I decided to see what offers were available under the title “health writer.”

If you know me, you’ll know that my LinkedIn profile lists projects I’ve been involved in, but I rarely leave any. So, I’m quite busy working on multiple things at once. I find it hard to delegate and I have too many interests. Furthermore, as I recently mentioned, this year my husband and I started homeschooling our child.

I took a look at the offers just out of curiosity, with no intention whatsoever. And I don’t know if it was destiny, but I came across the job offer from Parsley Health for…

--

--

Gabby Savage

Passionate about poetry, health research, language learning and things in life. Fiction writer.